About Us

Vision

All students have the support needed to realize well-being and success.

Mission

We fundraise to provide programs and services that help students overcome barriers and succeed in school.

The Hastings and Prince Edward Learning Foundation accomplishes its mission by working with volunteers, teachers, principals, school staff and donors to provide philanthropic support for an entire spectrum of enhanced learning opportunities for students.

2018/19 Budget projects expenditures (nearly)

went to students in South East Ontario in the 2017/18 school year

went directly to students of the Hastings and Prince Edward School Board

Our History

The Hastings and Prince Edward Learning Foundation was incorporated as a charitable organization in 2002. During that first year, $10,000 was raised through the hosting of a golf tournament. This school year, the 2017/18 budget projects funds raised will be over $1.7 million through The Learning Foundation. The programs and initiatives delivered by The Learning Foundation in support of student well-being has grown greatly over the years, as has donor support. Hastings and Prince Edward counties continues to have the second highest rate of food insecurity in the Province. If having sufficient food at home is a problem for families, then support for school readiness may also be an issue, and this is where the programs of The Learning Foundation can make a real difference. The Directors of The Learning Foundation recently identified new strategic priorities for the next three year period:

  1. Evaluate, assess and celebrate initiatives,
  2. Form strategic partnerships,
  3. Promote The Foundation to increase awareness, and
  4. Increase donor dollars to support Foundation programs.

This included approving a revised Mission and Vision to guide the work of The Learning Foundation: Vision: All students have the support needed to realize well-being and success. Mission: We fundraise to provide programs and services that help students overcome barriers and succeed in school. We know that our work on behalf of students is important, and we’re committed to providing support students through our programs. As a Hastings Prince Edward District Principal recently told us, “Through your support we are able to assist students and their families to overcome barriers and see success at school. With Learning Foundation funding, programs and initiatives we are able to provide supports that can often be major game changers in the lives of our school community families. Our families are often left in positions where they have to make choices between heat, hydro or groceries and prescription drugs or eye glasses. As school administrators knowing that we have your support as we help our families makes a difference. Many of our families struggle day to day with challenges we have never experienced and stressers we cannot relate to directly. We are able to help students feel included and participate in activities which their peers take for granted.”

Where Our Funds Come From

The Good Backpack Program, Student Emergency Fund, and Len & Olive Black Memorial Fund:
  • Community Donations 100%
Student Nutrition Programs:
  • Community Donations 85%
  • Ministry of Children and Youth Services 15%

How Our Funds Are Spent

  • Funds Directly Invested In Our Programs 80%
  • Management and Administration Costs 18%
  • Fundraising Costs 2%

Financial Statements

View the latest available audited financial statements for The Hastings and Prince Edward Learning Foundation.

Our Board Of Directors

Susan Sweet

Susan Sweet

Chair

Car21@symatico.ca
Geoff Cudmore

Geoff Cudmore

Past Chair

gcudmore@cogeco.ca
Dave Clazie

Dave Clazie

Treasurer

davidc@quintewest.ca
Maribeth deSnoo

Maribeth deSnoo

Secretary to the Board, Executive Director

mdesnoo@hpedsb.on.ca
Al Stitt

Al Stitt

Director

landastitt@cogeco.ca
David DeMille

David DeMille

Director

dwd@tmlegal.ca
Elaner Pound

Elaner Pound

Director

elaner.pound@sympatico.ca
Dr. Elizabeth Churcher

Dr. Elizabeth Churcher

Director

elizchurcher@hotmail.com
Kevin Vance

Kevin Vance

Director

kvance@vancemotors.com
Nick Pfeiffer

Nick Pfeiffer

Director

npfeiffer@hpedsb.on.ca
Mandy Savery-Whiteway

Mandy Savery-Whiteway

Director

msavery-whiteway@hpedsb.on.ca
Steve Gatward

Steve Gatward

Director

gatwards@hastingscounty.com
Tony Guerrera

Tony Guerrera

Director

tguerrera@greergalloway.com
Caroll Henessey

Caroll Henessey

Director

carollh4@gmail.com
Darren Matassa

Darren Matassa

Honorary Director

darrenm@955hitsfm.ca
Jon Buchanan

Jon Buchanan

Director

jon.buchanan25@gmail.com

Our Staff

Maribeth deSnoo

Maribeth deSnoo

Executive Director

mdesnoo@hpedsb.on.ca
Kellie Brace

Kellie Brace

Coordinator, Student Nutrition Programs/Food for Learning

kbrace@hpedsb.on.ca
Cherie Hardie

Cherie Hardie

Student Nutrition Programs, Food and Logistics Coordinator

chardie@hpedsb.on.ca
Vicky Struthers

Vicky Struthers

Community Development, Special Events, and Grants Coordinator

vstruthers@hpedsb.on.ca

Pin It on Pinterest

X